Argument from AI summary

Socrates discusses with Wittgenstein. At some point Socrates claims “A”. In response, Wittgenstein replies with “your A is B”.

Socrates then, aside, asks an AI to “summarize my argument A”. The AI answers by producing a text. Socrates reads the text, archives the conversation with the AI, for reference.

Then Socrates tells Wittgenstein the following.

“I listened your reply “your A is B” with attention and I believe that you misrepresent my A, by mistake or on purpose. Or perhaps I am at fault here because what I think about the subject is not clearly enough communicated in my argument A.

I don’t know which one it is, therefore I asked this AI to summarize my argument A, in the form I told you.

Here is the AI summary, as archived and also as corrected by me.

It seems that the AI clearly writes what I intended when I communicated A to you. There is only one small detail here, which is not important for our discussion, see this correction.

I ask you then: Wittgenstein, why do you reply with “Your A is B” when even an AI can get the gist of my argument A but you behave as if you don’t?

Your reply, in the form you told me, does not respond to my A. “

The discussion continues…

UPDATE: Archived AI summary of this post.

3 thoughts on “Argument from AI summary”

Leave a comment