No semantics principle in GEB book

A very interesting connection between the no semantics principle of Distributed GLC and the famous GEB book by Douglas R. Hofstadter has been made by Louis Kauffman, who indicated the preface of the 20th anniversary edition.

Indeed, I shall quote from the preface (boldface by me), hoping that the meaning of the quoted will not change much by being taken out of context.

… I felt sure I had spelled out my aims over and over in the text itself. Clearly, however, I didn’t do it sufficiently often, or
sufficiently clearly. But since now I’ve got the chance to do it once more – and in a prominent spot in the book, to boot – let me try one last time to say why I wrote this book, what it is about, and what its principal thesis is.

In a word, GEB is a very personal attempt to say how it is that animate beings can come out of inanimate matter. […]

GEB approaches these questions by slowly building up an analogy that likens inanimate molecules to meaningless symbols, and further likens selves (or ‘I”s or “souls”, if you prefer – whatever it is that distinguishes animate from inanimate matter) to certain special swirly, twisty, vortex-like, and meaningful patterns that arise only in particular types of systems of meaningless symbols.

I have not read this book, instead I arrived, partially, to conclusion which are close to these from trying to understand some articles,  written by Jan Koenderink, being mesmerized by the beautiful meme “Brain a geometry engine“.  Last time I discussed about this in the post The front end visual system performs like a distributed GLC computation.

Leave a Reply

