Now, what?

Preparations for Christmas done, now in the mood for posting in my “dear diary” category (actually never been able to have one in the real world, excepting one try when I was 12, during a sea trip, which resulted in a meteo report).

Now, what? Let’s see:

1. With detached curiosity (because of an optimistic nature), I read that the agency which manages research grants here has been dismantled and a new organization of its activity will start soon (here, in Romanian).  Given my previous reactions, like those under this tag, I better have a plan B, right? So, is there anybody there interested in using my capacity to generate new ideas 😉 ? I anticipated this, some time ago, thinking about a job shelter, and even had some subconscious thoughts when I wrote  a professional wishlist.

2. I am very glad to have the occasion to learn a lot, this year, for example about some amazing ideas, like Digital Materialization, see also Carl Vilbrandt on google+. There are posts on this blog concerning digital materialization and eventual benefits of collaboration between DM and euclideon (which is not a scam, if there is still needed to mention).   “Now, what?” applies very well here, in the sense, that I am very curious to see if there is really any use of fractal image compression (type) algorithms for freps (and for the format euclideon uses), or what else is happening there?

3. Where is graphic lambda calculus going? For me it is firstly a proof of the fact that “computing with space” is a kind of computing (albeit I am still not convinced that “computing”  applies to the way the visual brain works). There are plenty of mathematical venues to explore, like: is there a pi-calculus version, a typed version, is the extended beta move reasonable, can it be used for real for computing,  and so on.

Most of all, what is this duality meaning? Is there a category theory fact, hiding in there, given that some typed lambda calculi (with eta reduction) admit a description in cartesian closed categories?

4. Will appear a Journal of very short papers?  Will publishers start to value peer-reviews? I am very excited about such ideas and my best hope is that the “global mind” of www users will come with much better ideas than a single “neuron” like me might have.

5. Although I changed the route less than a couple of years ago, I am still interested in sub-riemannian geometry and subjects alike. In fact, I am longing for some plain old fashioned research and article writing period on solid math subjects, after this crazy shift I took. However, I have no regrets, because I was right when I wrote, without any proof, about computing with space!

Leave a Reply

